Rio 2016 Olympic Games

The 2016 Summer Olympic Games will be held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil from August 5-21, 2016. The sport of Canoe/Kayak Slalom currently includes 4 classes at the Olympic level. 

Canadian Canoe Singles Men | C1M

Canoe Doubles Men | C2M

Kayak Singles Men | K1M

Kayak Singles Women | K1W

The growing class of C1W is slated to be added to the Olympic programme at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics. The ICF is planning to have complete gender equity for the 2024 Olympics [announcement here].

Canadian Olympic Team Selection

Step 1: Earning Nation Quota Spots

Canoe Slalom has a limited number of athletes who participate in the Olympic Games. It is not guaranteed that every country will participate. On the contrary, there are 21 or fewer nation spots available in each category. The first step of the qualification process is for Canadian athletes to earn Nation spots for Canada (who will fill the spots is determined later). This is done through Continental Qualifiers, and World Qualifiers.

ICF Canoe Slalom Qualification System

Step 2: Athletes compete for Olympic Spots

Once quota spots have been awarded to Canada, our National Sport Organization, in this case, Canoe Kayak Canada, selects athletes based on results at one or many races through Olympic Selection Criteria. The 2016 Olympic Selection Criteria is not yet available, but presumably when it is it will be posted at the following location:

CanoeKayak Canada Selection Criteria

Copyright 2020 Ottawa River Runners. All rights reserved | Admin